Managing Director

Mag. (FH) Wolfgang Hermann

Mag. (FH) Wolfgang Hermann has been the Managing Director of AGES and Director of BAES since 2014.

The finance and management specialist previously worked for the Federal Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs and Consumer Protection for many years, where he was entrusted with reviewing subordinate agencies and recipients of government funds. Hermann then went on to become Head of Finance for 10 years, followed by a10-year tenure as Chairman of the Management Board at the non-profit organisation Neustart in Austria. He was also the Managing Director of Neustart GmbH, a 100% subsidiary of Neustart headquartered in Stuttgart, Germany, from 2004 to 2008.
During this period, Wolfgang Hermann gained extensive experience and knowledge in the setting-up, management and development of a large-scale service provider with more than 1,000 full-time and 1,500 voluntary staff with 20 offices in Austria and Germany.

Most recently, Wolfgang Hermann was Managing Director of Bio Austria, the largest organisation for organic farmers in Europe, with more than 13,000 members. In addition, the Viennese, who resides in Lower Austria, has also been working as an independent business consultant and speaker since 2002.

Business Segments

Managing Director

Mag. (FH) Wolfgang Hermann


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Franz Allerberger, Head of Division for Human Medicine
DI Dr. Christian Katzlberger, Head of Division of Radiation Protection
DI Charlotte Leonhardt, Head of Division for Food Security
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Friedrich Schmoll, Head of Division of Animal Health
Mag. Dr.  Friedrich Sövegjarto, Head of Division of Food Safety
DI Dr. Christa Wirthumer-Hoche, Head of Austrian Medicines & Medical Devices Agency


Univ.-Doz. DI Dr. Klemens Fuchs, Head of Data, Statistics and Risk Assessment
Univ.-Doz. Mag. Dr. Ingrid Kiefer, Head of Risk Communication
Mag. DI DDr. Alois Leidwein, Head of Research Coordination, Knowledge Transfer, AGES Academy
Mag. Nellina Verdianz, Head of Sales, Marketing und Business Development

AGES Business Services – Administrative Departments

MMag. Dr. Gerald Benesch, Head of Legal Services & Insurance
Mag. Susanne Hofer, Head of Human Resources
Ing. Markus Hoffmann, BSc MA, Head of Integrated Management System
Gabriele Jell-Wiesinger, MMSc, MBA, Head of Corporate Audit
Mag. Rolf Kienapfel, Head of IT-Services, Facility Management and Organisation
Georg Schönberger, Head of Finance

Organisation Chart

Organisation Chart 01-01-2017 © AGES